The Burdekin Shire Council Australia Day Awards recognise members of our community who have made an outstanding contribution to the community, and for their exceptional achievement in a variety of areas.

The award categories include:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Senior Sports Person of the Year
  • Junior Sports Person of the Year
  • Sports Administrator Award
  • Sportsperson with a Disability Award
  • Senior Cultural Award
  • Junior Cultural Award
  • Life Time Contribution Award
  • Achievement Award
  • Excellence Award
  • Senior Environment Award
  • Junior Environment Award

View the Australia Day Award Recipients for 2016.

How to nominate:

Nominations for the 2017 Australia Day Awards will be open later this year.

Burdekin Shire Council
145 Young Street
AYR QLD 4807
Fax : 4783 9999

You will need to complete a nomination form when nominations are open.  Supporting documentation may also be provided with your nomination form if you feel it will assist the judges in making their decision. Supporting documentation can include items such as personal references, photographs, samples of work, portfolios, articles etc.

Please do not supply originals of supporting documentation, as all documentation will be retained by the Burdekin Shire Council.

Eligibility in Categories:

All nominees must be a resident of the Burdekin Shire at the time of nomination

Judging Process

Nominations will be reviewed by the appointed judging panel. The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Award Recipients

Award recipients for 2016 were announced at a ceremony during our Australia Day Celebrations held on 26th January, 2016 at the Burdekin Memorial Hall.


Enquiries should be directed to Tony Vaccaro on (07) 4783 9800.

Comments are closed.