Burdekin residents awarded for community spirit

Burdekin resident Patricia Nuttall was announced as the Shire’s 2013 Citizen of the Year at the Australia Day celebrations in Ayr today.

Mrs Nuttall was one of 13 residents recognised for the their community spirit at the award ceremony.

Mayor Bill Lowis said Mrs Nuttall had been involved in basketball, the Antioch Youth Group and Burdekin Singers and Theatre for many decades.

“She has given tirelessly of her time, energy and creative talents over several decades to continually direct and produce shows for the Burdekin Singers and Theatre of an incredibly high standard,” he said.

“She is committed to the success of other people and empowers them through many different channels.

“She has dedicated her life to others and the consideration of others’ achievements, this is what makes a truly great citizen.”

Two young residents shared the title of 2013 Young Citizen of the Year – Joshua Great and Brianne Rossato.

Cr Lowis said Joshua and Brianne had been nominated for their outstanding contribution to the local community through their involvement in school, sporting, cultural and community activities.

“The future of the Burdekin is in safe hands when you see young people, such as Joshua and Brianne, giving so much to the community,” he said.

“We have a wealth of community minded people in our region and I congratulate them all for the time and dedication they put into their various organisations.”

The Burdekin also welcomed two new citizens at the celebrations with the naturalisation of siblings Robyn and Bruce Maddison who have moved to the Shire from South Africa.

Burdekin 2013 Australia Day Award Recipients

Australia Day Citizen of the Year 

Winner Patricia Nuttall     Achievement Award Lorna Hogenelst

Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year

Winner Joshua Great and Brianne Rossato Achievement Award Brittany Falco

Australia Day Community Event of the Year 

Winner Sacred Heart Parish 2012 Centenary Celebrations

Australia Day Senior Cultural Award

Winner Monica Licciardello

Australia Day Junior Cultural Award 

Winner Reece D’Alessandro   Achievement Award Shannyn Pattinson

Sports Administrator Award 

Winner Karina Johnson

Senior Sports Person of the Year 

Winner Michelle Scott

Junior Sports Person of the Year

Winner Jarrod Langford    Achievement Award Jack Brock and Kurt Perry


Comments are closed.