New Burdekin Shire Council sworn in

The newly elected Burdekin Shire Council was sworn in at the first official post-election meeting in Ayr.

Mayor Lyn McLaughlin and six Councillors took their oaths to serve the Burdekin community for the next four years in front of a crowded public gallery.

Cr McLaughlin said she was honoured to have been re-elected to lead the Shire.

“I am delighted to see so many people come to witness today’s meeting,” she said.

“We are aware we have a hard job ahead of us and we have made a commitment to work hard for our community.”

The new Burdekin Shire Council is Cr John Woods, Cr Sue Perry, Cr Uli Liessmann, Cr Ted Bawden, Cr Tony Goddard and Cr John Bonanno.

One of the first decisions for the new Council was who to appoint Deputy Mayor and the new Council appointed Cr John Woods to the position.

Cr McLaughlin said Council had decided to do something a bit different with the Deputy Mayor position.

“The position of Deputy Mayor will be shared among the six Councillors and each will have a term of eight months,” she said.

“This will allow each Councillor the opportunity to learn what is involved in this position.

“I hope the community will see this as a team that is working together for their benefit.”

It was also decided Council would meet every first, second, third and fourth Tuesday of each month and appointed Councillors to community groups and committees.

A full list of committee and community group appointments will be displayed on Council’s website.

Comments are closed.