Committee to ensure Council accountability

Council accountability will be the focus of the new Burdekin Shire Council Audit Committee.

The new Committee consists of Deputy Mayor Cr John Woods, Cr Sue Perry, Independent Chairperson Ian Jessup, Independent Professional Member Jim Fahey and Independent Community Member Jim Nuttall.

Key Council personnel, including Manager Finance and Administrative Services Kim Olsen and Executive Officer Rebecca Woods, will provide regular reports to the Committee and Council’s Chief Executive Officer Terry Brennan and Mayor Lyn McLaughlin will be regular observers.

Mayor Lyn McLaughlin said Council’s Audit Committee would provide independent advice to Council on finance, governance, risk management and compliance matters.

“These five people, who collectively have a broad range of skills and experience, will play an integral role in overseeing and reviewing Council’s activities,” she said.

“They met last week for the first time to provide members with the opportunity to get to know each other and meet with key Council employees.

“The group will meet four to five times a year and will review financial reports, policy, internal audit reports and risk management frameworks to ensure Council is adhering to its responsibilities under the Local Government Act 2009.”

Cr McLaughlin said the group would also receive regular advice and best-practice information from the Queensland Audit Office.

Comments are closed.