Community celebration to mark arrival of Queen’s Baton in Ayr

Burdekin residents will be able to cheer on local batonbearers at a ‘street-party’ style community celebration in Queen Street, when the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018) Queen’s Baton Relay arrives in the Burdekin on Monday 19 March.

Burdekin Shire Council Mayor Lyn McLaughlin said from 9am to 12.30pm all residents were invited to join the festivities in Queen Street, Ayr, which would culminate with the journey of the Baton through the town.

“Everyone is invited to come out and line the relay route to cheer on our16 local batonbearers, who were selected through a community nomination process last year,” Cr McLaughlin said.

“We will be celebrating all morning in Queen Street, where there will be side walk sales, live music, roaming performers, face painting, children’s activities, entertainment and a jumping castle.

“Council is pleased to announce children’s entertainer and comedian Sean Murphy as a special guest performer and we are sure his interactive show will be a hit with children and adults alike.

“We are hoping to get as many schools, community members and businesses as possible involved in the event and attending on the day to mark this wonderful occasion.”

Sixteen local batonbearers will proudly carry the Baton through Ayr, commencing from East Ayr State School at 11.38am and travelling through Queen Street to the finishing point at Ayr State School.

Cr McLaughlin said the Queen’s Baton was the icon of the Commonwealth Games, with Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s message to the athletes carried from Buckingham Palace to the Opening Ceremony.

“The GC2018 Queen’s Baton Relay presents our community with a unique opportunity to showcase its people, culture and environment to the rest of Australia and the world,” Cr McLaughlin said.

“I am immensely proud of our batonbearers, whose contributions to sport and the wider community should be celebrated by all.”

The full relay route is available at

The batonbearers are: Lauren Bozzetto, George Chappell, Brent Dingle, Tony Goddard, Lacy Horan, Keely Johnson, Ryan Kastner, Hayden Lammon, Isabella Linton, Andrea McDonnell, Michelle Scott, Scott Stidston, Steven Szendrey, Debra Szendrey, Oliver Vernon and Greg Vincett.

The Relay arrived in Australia on 24 December 2017 and, collectively across the country, batonbearers will take more than a million steps to take the Baton to its final destination.

For further information please visit Council’s website or contact Council’s Customer Service Centre on (07) 4783 9800.

Comments are closed.