Nominations Now Open for Australia Day Awards

Nominations are now open for the Burdekin Shire Council 2019 Australia Day Awards.

Mayor Lyn McLaughlin said each year Council recognised individuals or groups for their selfless and valuable contributions to the community.

“The Australia Day Awards are an opportunity for us to acknowledge and celebrate the many outstanding Burdekin residents who work tirelessly to make the region a better place to live,” Cr McLaughlin said.

“We all know someone who inspires us through their work, dedication or passion. These awards are our opportunity to celebrate their contributions, so I encourage all residents to take the time to nominate them for an award.”

There are 13 categories in the 2019 awards:

  • Citizen of the Year;
  • Young Citizen of the Year;
  • Life Time Contribution Award;
  • Community Event of the Year;
  • Sports Award Senior;
  • Sports Award Junior;
  • Sport Administrator Award;
  • Sportsperson with a Disability;
  • Cultural Award Senior;
  • Cultural Award Junior;
  • Environmental Award Senior;
  • Environmental Award Junior; and
  • Excellence Award.

Australia Day Awards nominations close Tuesday 11 December 2018.

All award nominees will be invited to attend the Australia Day ceremony to be held at the Burdekin Theatre on Friday 25 January 2019.

For further information and details on how to nominate, please visit Council’s website or contact Council’s Customer Service Centre on (07) 4783 9800.

Comments are closed.