Council’s new local laws, introduced on 1 July 2012, have prohibited the keeping of specific breeds of dogs anywhere within the Shire.

These breeds include:

  1. Dogo argentino;
  2. Fila brasileiro;
  3. Japanese tosa;
  4. American Pit Bull Terrier or Pit Bull Terrier; and
  5. Perro de Presa Canario or Presa Canario

For more information on prohibited animals please refer to Council’s Subordinate Local Law No. 2 (Animal Management) 2012.

Penalties apply for keeping the above prohibited animals.

Further information

If you require any further information please call Council’s Customer Service Centre on 07 4783 9800 or email

Comments are closed.